Knowing your own FreeBSD temperature

Hello readers, finally back in here. It’s very long time, i did not update my own blog, i just forget it for almost 1.5 years. Hahahaha, but, it’s okay, in 2011, i hope i can update my blog frequently.

Back to the topic, i publishing this topic, because at the afternoon, my friend told me, that he has a project in SISFO in my ex campus, building like temperature monitoring on my campus datacenter. wow, thats sounds great. on the night, i think, i can build that project in easier way, without using SNMP and Java (my friend told me that in his project, he was using java).

okay, let’s start the configuration.

first, i load the coretemp module on freebsd.

kldload coretemp

after you load coretemp module, you can run this command :
sysctl -a |grep tempera
and the output will be look like this :
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0.temperature: 40.0C

output of sysctl command depends on your server hardware. I test it using AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+, 2GB memory,  Gigabyte NF-M2PV motherboad.

So easy huh ? 😀

 

 


One response to “Knowing your own FreeBSD temperature

Leave a Reply

